Click.

My dad and grandmother recently found this old photo of my grandfather as a boy scout in Chattanooga in 1937 (he’s on the far right). Old photos are so fascinating; capturing one moment from 73 years ago and freezing it for us to see today. I never knew my grandfather, he died the year I was born, so it is somewhat strange to look at old photos of him– this man that I am related to and see evidence of in my living family (attn family: doesn’t little Chris look just like him?!)– to see him as a young man.

When this photo was taken, he had no idea that he would one day marry my grandmother and have four kids. He was probably focusing on the next task at hand as a scout. And now, I look back at him and try to imagine what happened just before and after the camera click: him setting up the tent with his fellow scouts, preparing dinner, sleeping under the southern stars… All of this is so simple, but so amazing to imagine– and it makes him more human and more real to me today.

Ah, the importance of photos…. maybe I’m biased. 🙂


This entry was posted in friends and family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Click.

  1. AnnieV says:

    You are MY niece

Leave a Reply

