Hello, interwebs!

an abandoned building

So, it’s official– I have a blog.

I never really had any interest in blogging… I’m not exceptionally witty nor do I have any intense insights that I think people on the World Wide Web need to hear.

BUT, I am a photojournalism major and, therefore, I take way too many pictures. Many of these photos are never used and are condemned to a life sentence in my hard drive, which makes me sad. A photojournalism professor described cutting photos from a project as killing your babies, and while that may be a tad dramatic, it can be really, really hard… Especially for a pack rat like me who seems to be able to attribute emotional memories and meaning to the most mundane objects (ticket stubs… t-shirts… rocks).

So, this blog is a space to give these forgotten/unneeded photos a place to live where they at least have the possibility of being viewed by others aside from myself. I may attempt to make this a photo-a-day blog… but we’ll see how that goes.

I am assuming that this blog will only be viewed regularly by friends and family– maybe just my parents (love you guys!). So, since I leave for Argentina in two days, I am going to try to make this a place where I can keep all of you updated on how things are going in the southern hemisphere.

This is already too long. This is why I don’t blog.

This photo was taken in May during the Carolina Photojournalism Workshop. I was in downtown Spruce Pines, NC, when I drove by this hole where a building burnt down. It was too interesting to pass by. I love the symmetry and the way the red chair pops. Oddly beautiful.

Well, until next time– Ciao!

This entry was posted in urban. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello, interwebs!

  1. Janet Snoddy says:

    Yes, we will be watching and of course think you are great. Love you too from your biggest fans.

  2. Daniel Vance says:

    Good start, I eagerly await future photos.

  3. Marshall says:

    You’re added to my google reader! have funnnn.

  4. katie says:

    i’m excited already. and im happy that you’ve found homes for all your unwanted children.

  5. Alyssa says:

    oh gosh, katherine. that picture is amazing. im glad i can keep tabs on your picture taking because then i can order them as prints 😉

  6. Beth says:

    I anxiously await future adventures, You will be providing me with images I will NEVER experience first hand and I thank you in advance for that.

  7. katie says:

    AHHHH THIS PICTURE IS CRAZY (THE MTN SHOT). it looks like you made it look so beautiful…i’m just so pleased that prettiness like that exists out there.

Leave a Reply

